Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rules Questions Answered

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Rules Questions Answered

    If you have a rules related question please ask away on this thread and one of us will get you an answer ASAP!

  • #2
    Rules Question

    Who is allowed to clean a players ball once it is picked up on the green? Can anyone clean it, or just the player, and/or his own caddy? GJS

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Rules Question

      I have looked but cannot see a rule that prohibits someone else cleaning your ball. I cant understand why it should create a misdemeanor.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Rules Question

        I can't either, other than a player using the services of of two caddies, at the same time, in sanctioned play. Just wondering since this was brought up this past week while playing with some friends while using caddies. One of the guys flipped his ball to a caddy other than his own. Another player saw it, and chastised him for it. I asked my caddy about it, and he told me where we were, it did not matter, but in sanctioned play it could be considered a penalty, since a player is only allowed the use of one caddy.

        Like I said, I was just wondering. GJS

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Rules Question

          One thing I do believe is true - only your caddy can give you advice,... if another caddy cleans your ball for you, can that be considered giving assistance?

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Rules Question

            Originally posted by BrianW View Post
            I have looked but cannot see a rule that prohibits someone else cleaning your ball. I cant understand why it should create a misdemeanor.
            There's also nothing in the "Decisions" book, which, since I doubt it's never happened, suggests that it really doesn't matter who cleans your ball even if it is another caddy. However the following Decision on Rule 6.4 (Multiple Caddies) would probably be applicable if someone questioned it - my highlighting of probably the key phrase.


            6-4/4.5 Another Caddie or Friend Carries Clubs While Player's Caddie Returns to Tee with Player's Glove.

            Q. A player walks from the putting green of the previous hole to the next tee with his driver while his caddie walks ahead with the clubs in order to save time. The caddie realizes he has his player's glove and gives the clubs to another player's caddie or friend to be carried while he takes the player his glove. Did the player have two caddies in breach of Rule 6-4?

            A. No. The casual act of someone assisting the player or his caddie in these circumstances does not constitute a breach of Rule 6-4.


            EXTRACT FROM DECISIONS ON THE RULES OF GOLF 2010-2011


            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Rules Questions Answered

              This is an extract from a "conversation" Miffin and I are having about our chipping problems.

              Originally posted by bdbl View Post
              Strangely I was just about to comment on this in the "rules sticky".

              I slip back into old habits and don't trust a short swing to do the business.

              So, hence the rules question:

              When practicing I go through a little mental tick list and routine which just melts away on the course so I'm thinking of typing out and sellotaping some bullet points to the club as a last moment aide memoire. But is this legal?

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Rules Questions Answered

                Originally posted by bdbl View Post
                This is an extract from a "conversation" Miffin and I are having about our chipping problems.
                Providing you don't attach the note to the clubhead you are ok.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Rules Questions Answered

                  I think its OK. Dave Pelz suggests sticking a note to each of your wedges that shows the distance for a short, half and full swing.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Rules Questions Answered

                    Originally posted by aaa View Post
                    Providing you don't attach the note to the clubhead you are ok.

                    Originally posted by BrianW View Post
                    I think its OK. Dave Pelz suggests sticking a note to each of your wedges that shows the distance for a short, half and full swing.
                    Make sure your note is on the shaft, not the clubhead, and enjoy! I've played with a fellow who has a bag full of laminated cards with his yardages on it - with full, half, and three-quarter swings.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Rules Questions Answered

                      Could someone explain in a few basic simple terms the difference between a lateral water hazard and water hazard please? And what you do when in either.

                      Bri

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Rules Questions Answered

                        In general Water Hazards (WH) run across the line of play and Lateral Water Hazards (LWH) run parallel to the line of play.
                        WHs are marked with yellow stakes/lines and LWHs with red stakes/lines

                        A "lateral water hazard" is a water hazard or that part of a water hazard so situated that it is not possible, or is deemed by the Committee to be impracticable, to drop a ball behind the water hazard in accordance with Rule 26-1b.

                        If a ball goes into a WH the player has three options.
                        1) Play the ball as it lies without penalty
                        or with a 1 stroke penalty
                        2) Play from the position where the ball was last played.
                        3) Drop a ball behind the WH on a line from the hole, through the point where the ball last crossed the margin of th WH with no limit on how far that is. Behind means on the opposite side of the WH from the hole.

                        If the ball goes into a LWH the player has, in addition, two further penalty options.
                        Drop a ball within 2 clublengths and not nearer the hole than (a) where the ball last crossed the margin or (b) a point on the opposite margin equidistant from the hole.
                        Last edited by aaa; 05-07-2010, 08:54 AM.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Rules Questions Answered

                          Great,thanks. Even I can understand that!

                          Bri

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Rules Questions Answered

                            I was playing with a friend who started the round with only 13 clubs. On the 8th green he threw his putter in anger at missing a short putt. When he retrieved his putter, the hosel had cracked. When we made the turn he says to me Im going to my car to get another club since I only have 13 clubs I can add another club". When he came back with a putter I told him that he cannot substitute that putter for his broken putter. He said he was not substituting a putter but adding another club. Is he allowed to use that 14th "putter" club?

                            Thanks
                            Matt

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Rules Questions Answered

                              Yes. Since he started with less than 14 he was entitled to add another providing he didn't unduly delay play.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X