Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Playing the wrong ball

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Playing the wrong ball

    I was wondering. what would the ruling be in this scenario:

    Two players playing match play. They both tee off, Player A plays Player Bs ball, un beknowing to Player B. Player B then Plays Player As ball.

    They both realise when they arrive at the green to play their next shots.

    What would be the ruling?

  • #2
    Re: Playing the wrong ball

    Rule 15-3 applies.

    When players effectively exchange balls in match play the first to play the wrong ball loses the hole, however if it can't be determined who played first then they play out the hole using the exchanged ball.

    In your scenario I guess Player B just got lucky.

    Did you make that up or did it actually happen?

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Playing the wrong ball

      Originally posted by bdbl View Post
      Rule 15-3 applies.

      When players effectively exchange balls in match play the first to play the wrong ball loses the hole, however if it can't be determined who played first then they play out the hole using the exchanged ball.

      In your scenario I guess Player B just got lucky.

      Did you make that up or did it actually happen?
      It actually happened. It was between two players playing a singles match play comp at my local course.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Playing the wrong ball

        And?
        What was the decision on the day?

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Playing the wrong ball

          I dont know, as this only happened yesterday. I will let you know though once I speak to the players in question.

          Comment


          • #6
            Wrong Ball

            Yes I agree with the first reply. Player A played the wrong ball first so should be penalized by virtue of loss of the hole. Player B was in error too but lucky for him he was second to play and gets away with a win on the hole.

            Comment

            Working...
            X