golftuitiononline.com | Home
Home Forum Tips Gallery Blog Reviews Lessons Gym Staff Podcast
Register FAQ Links Events Arcade Mark Forums Read
Our golf forum has 71,132 discussions | 32,576 members | 50 online now | BuyPurchaseViagra has just joined the GTO golf forum

Go Back   Golf Forum | golftuitiononline.com > Golf Discussion > General Golf Discussion
User Name
Password Register


 

 


Welcome to golftuitiononline.com | the global golf forum

You are currently viewing our golf forum as a guest which gives you limited access to the many features available here at the GTO golf forum. We are one of the largest golf forums online with 32,576 members worlwide and we pride ourselves on being the friendliest golf forum online. JOIN NOW (It's FREE) and you will gain immediate access to all these great features:
  • FREE Golf Video Lessons: P.G.A. Golf Video Lessons
  • Forums: Many Golf Forums for Interesting Golf Discussion
  • Gallery: Golf Video/Photo Library
  • Blogs: Create your own Golf Blog/Journal to keep track of your golf
  • Gym: Golf Gym with some great exercise instruction
  • Reviews: All Latest Golf Equipment and Golf Course Reviews
  • Arcade: Relax and enjoy friendly competition with other members in the Games Arcade
  • P.G.A. Advice: Ask our P.G.A. Professionals for advice on any of our golf forums
Joining today will will give you full access to all these great features. Registration is instant, simple and absolutely free giving you access to a wealth of golf information. Join our golf forum today! and be part of the largest golf tuition forum online.

Register Now for FREE!
You have not yet registered on GTO. Sign up for FREE INSTANTLY and gain full access, just fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password:
E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:
  I agree to forum rules 

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2006, 04:14 AM
spankit spankit is offline
Member
has posted many times at gto...
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 65
spankit has an average reputation 5/10
Is this a scam?

Hi all:There is a website called golfingtrader.com where you can advertise for free your golf clubs.I put a couple of ads on there and had responses from two different people both claiming to be in another country..namely England and West Africa..anyway they both had the same type proposition.They wanted to buy my club i advertised..but they had what they called a "debtor" in the USA that they claimed owed them money.They wanted my name and address to to send a cashiers check from the debtor to me.I was to supposed to cash it when received..then take out what i wanted for the club..then send balance to an "agent" so they could send a carrier around to pick up item.Sounds like a scam of some sort to me..i mean they dont have golf clubs for sale in these countries?Anyone ever heard of this kind of thing?Thanks-David
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2006, 07:28 AM
Ian Hancock's Avatar
Ian Hancock Ian Hancock is offline
GTO Staff/Nail it convert
is a major contributor here at GTO, and is a valued member...
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 1,682
Ian Hancock Has an unbeatable reputation
Re: Is this a scam?

Hi David,

Yes this is a scam..........................they will probably ask for your personal details next..............DON'T DO IT.


Ian.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2006, 08:17 AM
bdbl's Avatar
bdbl bdbl is offline
Member
is a major contributor here at GTO, and is a valued member...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 958
bdbl has an above average reputation 6/10
Re: Is this a scam?

I don't know how the US banking system works but similar scams happen over here quite often due the fact that the credit can be reversed quite ome time later.

The cheque will most likely be forged, stolen or otherwise invalid.

You still get to cash it though (because the checks aren't made on the spot) and send off the balance and the clubs.

A little while later your bank sends you an ooops sorry letter and you are down both the money you've sent and the clubs.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2006, 11:54 AM
MarkC13276's Avatar
MarkC13276 MarkC13276 is offline
Member
is a major contributor here at GTO, and is a valued member...
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK - Chester
Posts: 224
MarkC13276 Has a good reputation 7/10
Re: Is this a scam?

This is a massive fraud scam that could cost you a lot of money and potenital of identity theft.

Report your findings and email corospondents to your fraud squad for these type of things and inform your bank so they are aware of the situation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© 2008 golftuitiononline.com